Do you know someone who eats gluten-free? Most of us do – there are over 100 million Americans consuming gluten-free foods for either medical reasons or simply to consume what they consider a healthier diet.
Having celiac disease or a gluten-sensitivity is life altering (Mayo Clinic estimates over 200,000 people are diagnosed annually), often making socializing and special occasions stressful, and sometimes, uncomfortable for the gluten-free person.
Even though the gluten-free dietary market continues to rapidly expand, we often forget about our gluten-free friends and family when it comes to holiday meals and gatherings, and they typically do not say anything or make special requests because they already feel like their needs are an inconvenience.
So how do you welcome your gluten-free guests with satisfying and truly gluten-free holiday meal options? Start with naturally gluten-free foods such as fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, peas, beans, eggs, plain meat, poultry, fish, seafood, yogurt, and cheese.
And thanks to a vast selection of gluten-free flours and starches at the grocery store, it’s quite easy to make thickeners for gravy and desserts – and because they act and taste just like regular flours and starches – the rest of your guests won’t know the difference.
There are endless online resources and recipes for gluten-free cooking. Before you jump in and start cooking, read the reviews and see which ones are the favorites so you know you’re making something tasty.
The best way to think about cooking gluten-free is to look at which dishes require flour or bread. If you need flour, buy a gluten-free option that’s already engineered to act just like regular flour. Nobody will know the difference, especially if you use it as a thickener.
Note – it’s important to watch cross-contamination. If you make something with regular wheat flour, don’t use the same surface or utensils to make or serve your gluten-free options.
Distilled alcoholic beverages and wines are allowed; however, beer, whisky, and vodka from wheat, rye, or barley must be avoided. For safe vodka options, choose a potato, grape, or corn-derived vodka. All mixers are safe as long as there aren’t any added flavorings, and if your gluten-free guests aren’t dairy-free, pour some eggnog!
With the abundance of gluten-free products readily available today, cooking a gluten-free holiday meal and side dishes can be easy and delicious. Or, you can call Callier’s Catering today! We have many Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Eve meal options from sit-down, served dinners to buffets and carryout selections. Need a gluten- or dairy-free selection? Just ask! We’ve got you covered.
We serve the greater St. Louis area including, Clayton, Creve Coeur, Chesterfield, Florissant, Ballwin, Manchester, Wildwood, Ellisville, West County, St. Charles, O’Fallon, and surrounding areas. Contact us today! 636.230.0019
The post How to Add Gluten-Free to Your Holiday Meals appeared first on Callier's Catering.
Address:
Phone: